Molpé Music


AJOYO is born from the vision of French-Tunisian multi-instrumentist Yacine Boularès. It is a melting pot of African traditions, jazz and soul. More than music, it is a joyful afro-beat ceremony, an experience that bonds the musicians with their audience. AJOYO sings in the name of Tony Allen, Oum Kalthoum, Charlie Parker, Donny Hathaway…

Born in Tunisia and based in New-York, Yacine Boularès has played saxophone and composed music for illustrious Cameroonian musicians such as Jojo Cuo (former Fela Kuti’s drummer) and Martino Atangana, but also for Haitians of Tabou Combo, or for the album Encanto Del Mar by Placido Domingo. 

Th project is fed by these influences, and Yacine gathers around him a band that reconciles his North-African and and occidental heritages. Through the voice of American singer Sarah E. Charles, Ajoyo celebrates life, love and justice. A music of the heart, the spirit and the body… Alive and sophisticated, it makes people want to dance ! 


Yacine Boularès – saxophone

Sarah E. Charles – vocals

Michael Velanu – guitar

Jesse Fischer – keyboard

Kyle Miles – bass

Philippe Lemm – drums


Crédit photo : Shervin Lainez

follow AJOYO !


Close Menu